Bill Text - HB1670 (2012)

Apportioning executive council districts.

Revision: Jan. 3, 2012, midnight






AN ACT apportioning executive council districts.

SPONSORS: Rep. Bates, Rock 4

COMMITTEE: Special Committee on Redistricting


This bill establishes new councilor districts based on the latest federal decennial census.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Explanation: Matter added to current law appears in bold italics.

Matter removed from current law appears [in brackets and struckthrough.]

Matter which is either (a) all new or (b) repealed and reenacted appears in regular type.




In the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand Twelve

AN ACT apportioning executive council districts.

Be it Enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court convened:

1 Councilor Districts. RSA 662:2 is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:

662:2 Councilor Districts. The state is divided into 5 districts for the choosing of councilors, each of which may elect one councilor. The districts shall be constituted as follows:

I. Councilor district number 1 is constituted of the counties of Coos and Grafton, the unincorporated place of Hale’s Location, the towns of Albany, Alton, Bartlett, Belmont, Center Harbor, Charlestown, Chatham, Conway, Cornish, Croydon, Eaton, Effingham, Freedom, Gilford, Grantham, Hart’s Location, Jackson, Madison, Meredith, Moultonborough, New Hampton, Newport, Ossipee, Plainfield, Sanbornton, Sandwich, Springfield, Sunapee, Tamworth, Tilton, Tuftonboro, Wakefield, and Wolfeboro and the cities of Claremont and Laconia.

II. Councilor district number 2 is constituted of the towns of Acworth, Allenstown, Alstead, Andover, Antrim, Barnstead, Bennington, Boscawen, Bow, Bradford, Brookfield, Canterbury, Chesterfield, Chichester, Danbury, Deerfield, Deering, Dublin, Epsom, Farmington, Francestown, Gilmanton, Gilsum, Goshen, Greenfield, Hancock, Harrisville, Henniker, Hill, Hillsborough, Hopkinton, Langdon, Lempster, Loudon, Marlborough, Marlow, Middleton, Milton, Nelson, New Durham, Newbury, New London, Northfield, Northwood, Pembroke, Pittsfield, Rollinsford, Roxbury, Salisbury, Stoddard, Strafford, Sullivan, Surry, Sutton, Unity, Walpole, Warner, Washington, Weare, Webster, Westmoreland, Wilmot, and Windsor and the cities of Concord, Franklin, Rochester, and Somersworth.

III. Councilor district number 3 is constituted of the towns of Atkinson, Barrington, Brentwood, Chester, Danville, Durham, East Kingston, Epping, Exeter, Fremont, Greenland, Hampstead, Hampton, Hampton Falls, Kensington, Kingston, Lee, Madbury, New Castle, Newfields, Newington, Newmarket, Newton, North Hampton, Nottingham, Plaistow, Rye, Salem, Sandown, Seabrook, South Hampton, Stratham, and Windham and the cities of Dover and Portsmouth.

IV. Councilor district number 4 is constituted of the towns of Auburn, Bedford, Candia, Derry, Hooksett, Hudson, Litchfield, Londonderry, Pelham, and Raymond and the city of Manchester.

V. Councilor district number 5 is constituted of the towns of Amherst, Brookline, Dunbarton, Fitzwilliam, Goffstown, Greenville, Hinsdale, Hollis, Jaffrey, Lyndeborough, Mason, Merrimack, Milford, Mont Vernon, New Boston, New Ipswich, Peterborough, Richmond, Rindge, Sharon, Swanzey, Temple, Troy, Wilton, and Winchester and the cities of Keene and Nashua.

2 Application. The changes in councilor districts established by this act shall not affect constituencies or terms of office of councilors presently in office. The councilor districts established by this act shall be in effect for the purpose of electing councilors at the 2012 state general election. If there shall be a vacancy in a councilor district for any reason prior to the 2012 state general election, the vacancy shall be filled by and from the same councilor district that existed for the 2010 state general election.

3 Effective Date. This act shall take effect upon its passage.